A letter to my Ex.

I never ever thought that we would turn into this. I always pictured our happy lives, our loving family and our perfect little home. Not even in my wildest dreams did I think this would happen. I loved you from the moment I met you, I was obsessed with you and everything about you. I gave you my heart, my home and even my daughter for you to throw it away.

I always thought getting abused didn’t happen to people like me, it would be weak people or people who weren’t as privileged as I was. How wrong was I? How could I have been so naive?  I was convinced you were my prince charming and we would have our fairy tale ending. I kept telling myself that you would stop and that you didn’t mean it. I was sure you would see what you were doing and realise how much you were hurting me, but you didn’t. I believed you when you said you were sorry and you loved me. But how can you do that to someone you love?

I feel like my life has been ruined. Every memory I have of my daughters first year has been ruined by you. I don’t think I will ever be the same again, I don’t think I will ever be able to get over what you did. How am I supposed to move on and find someone else? I thought I could trust you but obviously my judgement was wrong with that one.

I’m a shell of the person I used to be, I still can’t leave the house on my own. I’m still depressed and It’s making me a bad Mum.

I really hope you’re ashamed of what you have done and I hope you never forgive yourself because I know I never will.

Leave a Reply

